Selection process: Individuals and schools may submit nominations via email to [email protected] to be considered for any number of the awards below. For your submission, please include a brief statement and description on why your school, advisor, or student leaders should receive the award. 

The nominations will be reviewed and winners will be selected by an internal Four Diamonds committee. The deadline for submission is 7/1/2019.

Diamond Awards

Diamond awards are given to individuals who have shown outstanding commitment to conquering childhood cancer. Nominees must be a Mini-THON student or advisor for the 2018-2019 school year.

Rising Diamond

This award is given to one outstanding student volunteer from a new school for 2018-2019 and one outstanding student volunteer from a school that has participated in the Mini-THON program for more than one year.  In one paragraph, explain why this student deserves to be recognized as an outstanding student volunteer.  An outstanding volunteer is one who exhibits the following characteristics:

Previous Winners:

2018 - Michael McNicholas, Radnor MS; Lauren Pavlechko, Lewisburg HS

2017 – Connery McFadden, St. John Neumann Regional Academy; Britani Lingafelt, Millville Jr./Sr. HS

2016 – Katy Collingsworth, Camp Hill HS; Savannah Keenen, E. R. Martin School

Excellence in Leadership Development

This award is given to one outstanding advisor from a new school for 2018-2019 and one outstanding advisor from a school that has participated in the Mini-THON program for more than one year.  It recognizes the efforts of an advisor that supported the diverse needs of the Mini-THON Leadership Committee and participants and provided an environment that encouraged leadership development.  Explain how your Mini-THON advisor:

Previous Winners:

2018 - Mary Beth Starkey & Lauren Maula, Battlefield HS; Doug Knepp, Palmyra MS

2017 – Alison Browning, J.P. McCaskey HS; Molly Atkinson and Mike Barber, Northern MS

2016 – Matthew Boe & Jeremy Lenzi, Greensburg Salem HS; Meaghan Cappelloni & Justine McEachern, Pennsbury HS

Event Awards

Event awards are given to schools that demonstrated exceptional success in the areas listed below. Nominations should be one paragraph and showcase how the school met the criteria listed for the award.  Pictures may be included in the nomination. 

Excellence in use of Social Media

Given to a school that creatively used different social media platforms to promote Mini-THON events and activities, (e.g. Twitter, Facebook, Vine, Instagram, YouTube, etc.) and recognizes the effective planning and execution of a successful social media campaign that delivered measurable results.  This includes programs designed to encourage participation of students, faculty, parents and the community at Mini-THON events and activities, and creating awareness for Four Diamonds and childhood cancer.

Previous Winners:

2018 -  South Western HS

2017 – South Fayette HS

2016 – Stroudsburg HS

Excellence in use of DonorDrive

Given to a school that best used DonorDrive to raise money and awareness for the Mini-THON.  This includes schools that encouraged students to register and fundraise through DonorDrive, and customized their DonorDrive landing page and content.

Previous Winners:

2018 -  Mount Saint Joseph Academy

2017 –  Wilson HS

2016 – Central Mountain MS

Best Faculty Participation

Given to a school that encouraged faculty participation in Mini-THON events and activities throughout the year, including event chaperones and participating in Mini-THON fundraisers.

Previous Winners:

2018 -  East Pennsboro HS

2017 – Lewisburg Area HS

2016 – Boyertown Area Senior HS

Excellence in Student Body Participation

Given to a school that improved school spirit and promoted school unity by bringing together students from diverse backgrounds to participate in the Mini-THON.

Previous Winners:

2018 -  Trinity HS

2017 – Central York HS

2016  – Urbana HS

Excellence in Fundraising

Given to a school that held a variety of fundraisers throughout the year to raise money and awareness for Mini-THON and Four Diamonds.

Previous Winners:

2018 -  Cedar Cliff HS

2017 – Roxbury HS

2016 – York Suburban HS

Get The Word Out