Selection process: Individuals and schools may submit nominations via email to to be considered for any number of the awards below. For your submission, please include a brief statement and description on why your school, advisor, or student leaders should receive the award. 

The nominations will be reviewed and winners will be selected by an internal Four Diamonds committee. The deadline for submission is 7/1/2020.

Diamond Awards

Diamond awards are given to individuals who have shown outstanding commitment to conquering childhood cancer. Nominees must be a Mini-THON student or advisor for the 2019-2020 school year.

Rising Diamond

This award is given to one outstanding student volunteer from a new school for 2019-2020 and one outstanding student volunteer from a school that has participated in the Mini-THON program for more than one year.  In one paragraph, explain why this student deserves to be recognized as an outstanding student volunteer.  An outstanding volunteer is one who exhibits the following characteristics:


2020 - Lyla van Hoven,Easton High School, Lindsey Schmidt, Wissahickon High School

2019 – Emily Weber, Pottstown High School, Emma Leister, Warwick High School

2018 – Michael McNicholas, Radnor Middle School; Lauren Pavlechko, Lewisburg High School

2017 – Connery McFadden, St. John Neumann Regional Academy; Britani Lingafelt, Millville Jr./Sr. High School

2016 – Katy Collingsworth, Camp Hill High School; Savannah Keenen, E. R. Martin School

Excellence in Leadership Development

This award is given to one outstanding advisor from a new school for 2019-2020 and one outstanding advisor from a school that has participated in the Mini-THON program for more than one year.  It recognizes the efforts of an advisor that supported the diverse needs of the Mini-THON Leadership Committee and participants and provided an environment that encouraged leadership development.  Explain how your Mini-THON advisor:


2020 - Caroline Hecht, South Park High School, Steve Whiteley, York Suburban High School

2019 – Matty Busillo and Laura Douglas, Lamberton Middle School, Corrine Bauman, Camp Hill High School

2018 – Mary Beth Starkey & Lauren Maula, Battlefield High School,  Doug Knepp, Palmyra Middle School

2017 – Alison Browning, J.P. McCaskey High School; Molly Atkinson and Mike Barber, Northern Middle School

2016 – Matthew Boe & Jeremy Lenzi, Greensburg Salem High School; Meaghan Cappelloni & Justine McEachern, Pennsbury High School

Event Awards

Event awards are given to schools that demonstrated exceptional success in the areas listed below. Nominations should be one paragraph and showcase how the school met the criteria listed for the award.  Pictures may be included in the nomination. 

Excellence in use of Social Media

Given to a school that creatively used different social media platforms to promote Mini-THON events and activities, (e.g. Twitter, Facebook, Vine, Instagram, YouTube, etc.) and recognizes the effective planning and execution of a successful social media campaign that delivered measurable results.  This includes programs designed to encourage participation of students, faculty, parents and the community at Mini-THON events and activities, and creating awareness for Four Diamonds and childhood cancer.


2020 - Avon Grove High School

2019 – Neshaminy High School

2018 –  South Western High School

2017 – South Fayette High School

2016 – Stroudsburg High School

Excellence in use of DonorDrive

Given to a school that best used DonorDrive to raise money and awareness for the Mini-THON.  This includes schools that encouraged students to register and fundraise through DonorDrive, and customized their DonorDrive landing page and content.


2020 - Manheim Central Middle School

2019 – Hempfield High School

2018 – Mount Saint Joseph Academy

2017 – Wilson High School

2016 – Central Mountain Middle School

Best Faculty Participation

Given to a school that encouraged faculty participation in Mini-THON events and activities throughout the year, including event chaperones and participating in Mini-THON fundraisers.


2020 - Dallastown High School

2019 – Manheim Township Middle School

2018 –  East Pennsboro High School

2017 – Lewisburg Area High School

2016 – Boyertown Area Senior High School

Excellence in Student Body Participation

Given to a school that improved school spirit and promoted school unity by bringing together students from diverse backgrounds to participate in the Mini-THON.


2020 - Lower Moreland High School

2019 – Bishop McDevitt High School

2018 – Trinity High School

2017 – Central York High School

2016  – Urbana High School

Excellence in Fundraising

Given to a school that held a variety of fundraisers throughout the year to raise money and awareness for Mini-THON and Four Diamonds.


2020 - Bellwood Antis High School

2019 – Marple Newtown High School

2018 – Cedar Cliff High School

2017 – Roxbury High School

2016 – York Suburban High School